20 June 2013 The World Congress of Translators of Polish Literature has already begun

From today till Sunday, over 200 translators of Polish books into foreign languages will be staying in Krakow. The morning inauguration lecture delivered by Wiesław Myśliwski, the laureate of awards such as the Nike Literary Award, in the Collegium Novum hall of the Jagiellonian University attracted crowds.

Translators are the best ambassadors of our literature. It is thanks to their efforts and personal commitment that translations of Polish books are published abroad, it is them who recommend our literature to foreign publishers, keep track of events on our literary market and often comment upon them.

The first Congress addressed to them was organised in 2005. 174 translators from 50 countries took part in it, whereas the second Congress held four years later attracted 215 translators from 56 countries. This year the invitation was accepted by 250 translators from all around the world. The first Congress was inaugurated by Ryszard Kapuściński’s lecture, the second Congress featured Olga Tokarczuk’s lecture, and the opening lecture at this year’s Congress will be delivered by Wiesław Myśliwski.

The Congress will be an opportunity to present the latest phenomena in Polish literature to participants. The programme of the Congress includes 40 workshop sessions that will be conducted by the most outstanding experts in Polish literature, including Professors Jerzy Jarzębski, Przemysław Czapliński, Piotr Śliwiński and Marek Zaleski, and Dariusz Nowacki, Kazimiera Szczuka and Michał Rusinek. On that occasion, Polish publishers will also present books recently published by them. The Congress will be attended by representatives of publishing houses such as: W.A.B, Znak, Wydawnictwo Literackie, Wydawnictwo a5 and Biuro Literackie. Translators will also have an opportunity to meet writers themselves, including: Wiesław Myśliwski, Adam Zagajewski, Joanna Bator, Olga Tokarczuk, Marek Krajewski and Ryszard Krynicki.

During the Congress, the Transatlantyk award ceremony will traditionally take place. Granted annually by the Book Institute to an outstanding populariser of Polish literature abroad, the Transatlantyk Award will be presented for the 9th time. The Laureate’s name will be announced at the ceremony that will be held on the 21st of June at 7 p.m. in the Juliusz Słowacki Theatre in Krakow.

The previous laureates of the Transatlantyk Award are: Henryk Bereska (2005), Anders Bodegard (2006), Albrecht Lempp (2007), Ksenia Starosielska (2008), Biserka Rajčić (2009), Pietro Marchesani (2010), Vlasta Dvořáčkova (2011) and Yi Lijun (2012).

The 3rd World Congress of Translators of Polish Literature is held under the patronage of Bogdan Zdrojewski , Polish Minister of Culture and National Heritage.

The detailed programme of the Congress is available at instytutksiazki.pl/kongres

Photo gallery from the 1st World Congress of Translators of Polish Literature

Photo gallery from the 2nd World Congress of Translators of Polish Literature